Telephone Rings Before Daybreak


The ink has dried. The type is set.
Is it getting light where you are yet?

Learn to want what I can get.
But it’s pretty dark where I am yet.

Here’s your knife, your drum, your bayonet,
but is it light where you are yet?

I kiss your lips and taste regret,
and it’s still not light where we are yet.

You threw the game. I lost the bet.
Tell me, is it light where you are yet?

I knew the price. I’ll pay the debt.
But there’s hours left ‘til daybreak yet.

We shuffle through this sad vignette,
asking, ‘Is it light where you are yet?’

I wonder, if we’d never met,
would it be light where I am yet?

In time and blood, through ink and sweat,
we’ll crawl our way to daybreak yet.

But I have to tell you, with regret,
it’s still not light where I am yet.

About this entry